Spots Veselské pískovny (Veselské Sand Quarries) Nature Trail stretches across the area of the former sand quarries. A visitor will find 14 points at this 7 km route where information charts have been placed drawing attention to the occurrence of unique and mostly protected species of plant and animal life. A distinctive part of the sand quarries is the protected locality called Písečný přesyp (a Sand Dune), which is almost a hectare of desert with unusual fauna and flora.
Borkovická blata (Borkovická Marshland) Nature Trail passes through a nature reserve with an interesting and, in its content, also specific area containing peat bog flora and some examples of the mechanical extraction of peat that took place years ago. A large part of the trail, measuring 6 km, passes on wooden paving.
Greenway Country Baroque passes through municipalities with the nicest exhibits of Country Baroque. Cycling route measures 36 km a consists of Veselí n. L. – Borkovice – Sviny – Mažice – Zálší – Klečaty – Komárov – Svinky – Vlastiboř – Záluží u Vlastiboře – Dráchov – Žíšov – Veselí n.L.
Railway Junction Electrified railway tracks stretch from Veselí nad Lužnicí to Prague, to České Budějovice and Šumava, to Novohradsko and across the border into Austria. Another branch line passes through Jindřichův Hradec to Brno. A track leads to Třeboň and the Czech-Austrian border crossing the entire Protected Countryside of the Třeboňsko region. Tourists can also use the trains when they travel with their bicycles and boats. The history of the local railway dates back to the very beginning of rail transport in Bohemia. GUIDE TO THE MICRO REGION OF VESELSKO
The micro region of Veselsko was established in 2003 merging twelve municipalities on a territory covering an area of 13 000 ha with a population of more than 9 000. The main idea for its establishment was to combine mutual strength to resolve the tasks for developing the local region. Apart from the town of Veselí nad Lužnicí, the micro region also consists of the municipalities of Borkovice, Bošilec, Drahotěšice, Drahov, Dynín, Mazelov, Mažice, Neplachov, Řípec, Sviny, Újezdec, Val, Vlkov, Vlkov u Ševětína, Zálší, Zlukov und Žíšov und municipalities of Hamr, Horusice, Klečaty and Lhota which haven´t own municipal office. The centre of the entire region is Veselí nad Lužnicí, which became not only an economic, but also a cultural centre of the extensive surrounding area, of the distinctive landscape called Veselská, sometimes also Velká, or Pšeničná blata. It is a fertile region with many farms unique culture, typical Blata (marshland) costumes and decorative architecture, so-called Country Baroque. Many examples of the skills of simple country masons, who created distinctive gables of country buildings, have been preserved.
Veselsko neighbours on its southern boundary with the fish lake region of Třeboňsko covered by pine forests and meadows. A large part of this plain is included in the protected area of Třeboňsko, which was also declared a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve.
Veselsko and neighbouring Třeboňsko offer its unique natural and historical beauty to hikers as well as cyclists and, last but not least, water sportsmen. Lovers of water tourism will find two clean rivers here – the Nežárka and Lužnice, which, in their character, are navigable, even to the less experienced water sportsmen. Whoever sets off in his or her boat down their waters, sails past extensive forests where they see nobody for hours, but instead will see a lovely blue kingfisher, a swallow – sand martin who hollow their nests into the high clay banks, as well as many other rare creatures and plants. The richly meandering rivers, with sand banks and a relatively calm current only occasionally disturbed by shallows and rapids, are a reward for every body who sails along them. Water sportsmen can also find suitable campsites along the route and many places to stop for a refreshment. In Veselí itself, water tourists are welcomed by the beautiful water camp called Ostrov (Island) and for those interested, there is the Veronica boat hire here.
Many fish lakes from the small to the largest in Bohemia and an enormous underground lake with the best quality drinking water, cover the area around Veselí nad Lužnicí. These are gems mostly introduced into the deep forests and almost all are linked to the Zlatá stoka (Golden Stream), whitch flows to the Lužnice river south of Veselí nad Lužnicí. The fish lakes, built as of the 12thcentury by brilliant “fish masters”, are a reminder of the time of the boom in fish breeding in the Rožmberk domain on the sites of former bogs and swamps. The biggest fish lake is called Rožmberk, lying directly on the river Lužnice. Two big fish lakes, the Horusický and Bošilecký, belonging to the local micro region, extend their waters right up to the town of Veselí nad Lužnicí. The fish lakes are also a big migrating and nesting ground for water birds. Wild geese, ducks as well as the rare white herons are found here in great numbers. At the Horusický fish lake there is the nature reserve called Ruda.
The extensive lakes of the Veselský sand quarries created by former quarrying of sand that are sought after for the excellent swimming conditions they offer. Fishermen and surfers come here in great numbers too. Visitors can find here refreshment and car parks, but must observe the rules protecting this locality.
Veselí nad Lužnicí
The central town of the micro region lies on the confluence of the rivers Lužnice, Nežárka and the Bechyňský potok (Bechyně Stream), which flows through the meadows and fields of the entire marshland. The town with its present population of 6 600, was formed in 1943 when merged with the neighbouring town of Mezimostí. Up to that time both towns developed separately and their representatives resisted the merger for a long time.
Veselí nad Lužnicí dates back to 1259 as a market settlement lying on the important “salt trail” that was guarded by the no longer existing fort. The settlement, raised to a town in 1362 by King Charles IV. himself when for a time it belonged to the crown, was mostly in the hands of the Rožmberk family. Veselí always remained an open town without any walls or fortifications so it often suffered from various military attacks. The role of the ancient settlement was fulfilled by the enclosed Early Gothic Church of the Raising of the Holy Cross with big tower erected in the first half of the 13th century. Many masters of diverse crafts lived in the town and organised various dances and merriment (this is how its name originated as veselice means merriment hence Veselí), pilgrimages and regular markets. There also used to be a baths here, brick kiln and prosperous brewery with its own hop-field but only the typical brewery tower with a chimney is all that is left now. The importance of the town grew with the establishment of the District Court in 1852. From the preserved sacred buldings, it is worth mentioning the small Church of St. Florian on Malé náměstí (Small Square) and the Chapel of St. Mark on the southwest outskirts of the town. On the square there stand three historically valuable renaissance houses dating back to the 16th and 17th century, and the building of the former town hall, the neighbouring house with graffito, which was built by the former mayor and which is now the Blatské Museum. Then there is the house no. 22 with its three distinctive gables where the Elementary Art School is found now. This is where the former post office used to be at one time together with the Veselí post station where horse teams were re-harnessed. It was the most important changeover post station in South Bohemia from the 16th to the end of the 18th century before it was later moved to České Budějovice.
The former Mezimostí (“Between – Bridges”), whose buildings used to stand on the delta of the River Nežárka and whose branch was later filled and the flow regulated, often suffered from floods. The name of the settlement which belonged to the Rožmberk family, points to the former presence of smaller bridges and fords, but the present bridges across both rivers are from much later period. Gradually the expanding important railway junction at the outskirt of the town predicted the development of several industrial enterprises mostly established near it. In 1993 the secondary school was re-opened. The name Střední odborná škola pro ochranu a tvorbu životního prostředí (The Secondary Vocational School for the Protection and Creation of the Environment) indicates why it was situated here in Veselsko and close to CHKO Třeboňsko (Natural Park). An extensive sports centre was built in the town, part of it are also an ice rink and a stadium. Visitors will find plenty of places to shop in the town, but also places to eat and accommodation facilities. More information can be obtained at the town’s Information Centre, which is situated on náměstí T. G. Masaryk (T. G. Masaryk Square).
The municipality of Horusice has been part of the town since 1980, lying four kilometres southwest of Veselí. The village was mentioned as early as 1294 as the property of the Lords of Hradec.